Bavuma Appears To Confirm De Kock Broke Fake Fielding Law
South Africa captain Temba Bavuma hailed Quinton de Kock for being “clever” when Fakhar Zaman was controversially run out within the second ODI between Pakistan and South Africa on Sunday.
Fakhaw was dismissed for 193 within the remaining over of the match, operating again to the keeper’s finish for a second run. The Pakistan opener gave the impression to be deceived by de Kock behind the stumps, slowing down and turning round as de Kock pointed in the direction of the non-striker’s finish. Distracted, Fakhar was left in need of his floor as Aiden Markram’s throw rattled the stumps.
Had de Kock been cited as intentionally deceiving Fakhar by the umpires, Pakistan would have been awarded 5 runs with the batsman remaining not out – as identified by the MCC, Law 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”
After the match, Bavuma praised de Kock and appeared to counsel that his transfer was a deliberate one: “Maybe some people might criticise it for maybe not being in the spirit of the game,” Bavuma was quoted as saying. “But it was an vital wicket for us. Zaman was getting near our goal. Yeah, it was intelligent from Quinny.
“You’ve always got to look for ways especially when things are not going your way, got to find ways to turn the momentum around. Quinny did that. I don’t think he broke the rules in any kind of way. It was a clever piece of cricket.”
Nonetheless, Bavuma’s assertion appeared at odds with what fellow teammate Tabraiz Shamsi stated on Monday, with the wrist-spinner arguing that de Kock wasn’t talking or pointing on the batsman, and that “he was asking a fielder to back up at the non-striker’s [sic] end”.
Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, participant interviews, evaluation and rather more.