Steve Nash headlines 2020 FIBA Hall of Fame Class

Steve Nash headlines 2020 FIBA Hall of Fame Class


Steve Nash (Canada), Svetislav Pesic (Serbia) and Alexander Volkov (Ukraine) are three large figures headlining the Class of 2020 for the FIBA Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2020, which wasn’t introduced till now because of the coronavirus pandemic, has 12 basketball icons in all. They might be enshrined into the FIBA Hall of Fame throughout a digital ceremony on June 18, along with the Class of 2021.

Nash, one in every of his nation’s most celebrated gamers, was some extent guard on the FIBA Basketball World Cup 1994 in Toronto and captain of his nationwide staff on the 2000 Olympics in Sydney. Also the MVP of the FIBA AmeriCup 1999 in Puerto Rico after main Canada to a runners-up end, Nash’s skilled profession spanned nearly 20 years within the NBA, the place he was MVP in each 2005 and 2006.

Pesic, one of many most interesting coaches ever, entered the occupation in 1982 and loved enormous successes with varied golf equipment in Europe. As a nationwide staff coach, Pesic steered hosts Germany to the FIBA EuroBasket crown in 1993 after which led Yugoslavia to glory at each FIBA EuroBasket 2001 and the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2002.

Volkov, one in every of Ukraine’s most celebrated sports figures, performed for the Soviet Union staff that received FIBA EuroBasket 1985 in West Germany after which the 1988 Olympic gold medal in Seoul, Korea. Having loved a stellar profession in Europe, the massive man performed within the NBA from 1989 to 1992 with the Atlanta Hawks.

The star-studded 2020 FIBA Hall of Fame Class options Olympic gold medalist and two-time world champion Modestas Paulauskas (Lithuania); world champion, Olympic silver medalist and two-time FIBA EuroBasket winner Jure Zdovc (Slovenia); FIBA Basketball World Cup 1967 main scorer and 236-time capped Mieczyslaw Lopatka (Poland); nine-time Japanese League champion Kenichi Sako (Japan); FIBA Women’s EuroBasket winner and 204-times capped Isabelle Fijalkowski (France); four-time FIBA Women’s EuroBasket bronze medalist Agnes Nemeth (Hungary); and FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup runner-up Park Shin-ja (Korea).

The 1996 Olympic gold-medal profitable coach Tara VanDerveer (USA) and 2004 Olympic gold-medal profitable coach Ruben Magnano (Argentina) are additionally within the 2020 FIBA Hall of Fame Class.


These 12 basketball legends that come from 12 completely different international locations throughout 4 continents mixed to win 5 Olympic gold medals and 5 World Cups. They accounted for six Olympic medals, 10 World Cup podium finishes, 20 Continental Cup medals, 70 nationwide membership competitors crowns and 11 worldwide membership competitors titles.

The Class of 2020 marks the primary time that gamers from Canada, Hungary, Japan, Korea and Ukraine are inducted into the FIBA Hall of Fame.

The FIBA Hall of Fame Class of 2021 might be introduced on Thursday, April 1.

Here is the complete record of inductees that make up the 2020 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame:

Isabelle Fijalkowski (France)
Mieczyslaw Lopatka (Poland)
Steve Nash (Canada)
Agnes Nemeth (Hungary)
Park Shin-ja (Korea)
Modestas Paulauskas (Lithuania)
Kenichi Sako (Japan)
Alexander Volkov (Ukraine)
Jure Zdovc (Slovenia)

Ruben Magnano (Argentina)
Svetislav Pesic (Serbia)
Tara VanDerveer (USA)